But the Obvious!

Sixth Pay Commission update

Posted by Irus on August 14, 2008

Please visit our new website http://surispace.net for answers to  pay commission queries

Today the Cabinet ratified the recommendations of the Sixth Central Pay Commission with minor modifications.  The jump in pay is expected to be upwards of 30 per cent after taxes. The system of four Pay Bands with 20 Grade Pays recommended by the commission has been accepted.

The median salary for central government employees in India currently stands at Rs 250,092 per annum, while that of private sector companies at Rs 408,605. It is expected that the figure for government employees will rise to Rs 352,611 — which would leave a small gap of Rs 50,000 compared to the private sector.      

However, as in the past, post pay commission most private sector companies revise their pay scales upwards which further increases this ever widening gap.

So far the highlights of the report are

  1. Minimum basic Salary – Rs. 7000
  2. New allowances to be effective from 1st September 2008
  3. IRS officers demand to be considered a superior service to IAS and IPS rejected
  4. Education Allowances for employees for upto two children – Rs. 1,000 (Earlier, it was Rs. 100)
  5. Maximum Basic Salary – Rs. 90,000 (Cabinet Secretary)
  6. National Holidays – 3
  7. Gazette Holidays to be canceled
  8. Pay hike will be implemented from January 01, 2006
  9. Maternity Leave : 6 Months
  10. HRA in A-1 Cities – 30%  (Unchanged)
  11. HRA in A, B, B-1 Cities – 20%
  12. Incentive Schemes to be announced
  13. New Medical Insurance Scheme to be launched for government employees
  14. Market-driven pay for scientists and all other jobs that require professional skill set.
  15. Total number of salary grades to be reduced from 35 to 20.
  16. The wage hike would increase the financial implication for the Centre by Rs 17,798 crore annually and the arrears with effect from January 2006 would cost Rs 29,373 crore, Information and Broadcasting Minister P R Dasmunsi told reporters after the Cabinet meeting.
  17. The government increased the minimum entry level salary of a government employee to Rs 7,000 against Rs 6,660 recommended by the Commission headed by Justice B N Srikrishna who submitted the report in March this year.
  18. Consequently, it would push up the total emoluments of an employee at the lowest level beyond Rs 10,000 per month including allowances.
  19. It also increased the rate of annual increment from 2.5 per cent to 3 per cent.
  20. In the defense sector, it approved at least three assured promotions for all defense forces personnel and civilian employees under the modified Assured Career Progression scheme.
  21. While civilians would get this after 10, 20 and 30 years of service, defence forces jawans would be promoted under ACP after 8, 16 and 24 years.
  22. The hiked salary would be given to the employees beginning September this year and the arrears from January 2006 would be given in cash in two installments – 40 per cent this fiscal and 60 per cent in 2009-10.
  23. The financial implication of Pay Commission on the General Budget would be Rs 15,717 crore and Rs 6414 crore on Railway Budget in 2008-09.
  24. The government’s present salary bill is over Rs 70,000 crore and the pension bill is over Rs 30,000 crore.
  25. Finance Minister P Chidambaram said the budget deficit target would be adhered to, despite the implementation of the Pay Commission recommendations.
  26. The government for the first time approved Military Service Pay for armed forces personnel, under which officers would get Rs 6,000 over and above their pay per month.
  27. The lowest limit of disability pension for defence personnel would be doubled to Rs 3100 a month.
  28. No Cabinet Secretary rank for Intelligence Bureau chief, the three Service chiefs or the Chairman, Railway Board
  29. Group D personnel to stay (peons in ministries and porters in Railways)
  30. Military service pay for persons below the officer rank (POBR) would be Rs 2,000 per month
  31. DIG-scale abolished in IPS and Indian Forest Service
  32. The salaries of Brigadiers will be in Pay Band 4 (Rs 39,200-67,000) as against the suggested pay band 3 (Rs 15,600 – 39,100) previously.

It is expected that the actual pay-out would come in November after the monsoon session of Parliament in September passes the Finance Ministry’s supplementary Demand For Grant to fund the wage bill.

Source: http://pib.nic.in/archieve/others/2008/aug/r2008081405cab.pdf

102 Responses to “Sixth Pay Commission update”

  1. Narasimhan said

    What about the date of granting Annual increment? will the same date will continue or it will be uniform for everyone pleaseclarify

  2. perki said

    Can anyone please tell me the way.. how the payband, grade pay was calculated for defence forces

  3. Sir, You are exactly correct in saying that most private sector companies revise their pay scales after adoption of government pay commission reports, as has been the case in the past. This could again expand the gap between the salaries of private and public sector employees. It is the high time to overhaul the Govt. machinery to make it responsive, corruption free, service orientedwith sacrificing mentality for the sake of national progress. Salary to be given not at par with private who are always profit motive but Govt. employees salary should at least 10% more than private sector. So that first quality, educated, intelligent and hardworking will select the govt. service for their betterment. Or otherwise there will be a separate CLASS ,category, group of higly paid a distinguished CASTE like group will generate who will be not only money oriented but also isolate themselves from main stream, deviate themselves from National Culture. They will identify with them an aligned unsuitable culture which in the long run will damage our close nitted society, joint family culture. Most of such people will lead a miserable life as the saying goes that where wealth accumulate decays. As Our Great Guru Ohm Sakthi Shri Bangaru Adigalar of Melmaruvathur says that the scientific development will do more harm to society that its utility as they have been used for destruction purpose. Only Spiritual development will save manhood.” Guru said in his oracle that there is no enough payment for work carried out by people and also there is no enough work done for the payment they receive”. Accordingly, since there is no accountability for the work done in Govt. Service as in the private employment, the black sheeps will not be taken to task and nation progress will be at peril as usual.
    One thing is to be taken into consideration : INDIA is a big country, it can be better managed by people with the population of 10% of its total population, if office automation is slow paced and intelligent peoples are recruited to cater the needs of poor people. BHARAT MATA KI JAI …. JAI HIND

  4. Vinit said

    What is the status of increments and what will be table of revised pay scale according to existing scales.It is obvious that pay revision is not in accordance with the increased commodities.

  5. r.c.chanda said

    wheather leaders Ministers Highleaving officials shall ever think for the most poor,middle class working people? The essential commodities costs same to a middle class or a royal class.

  6. r.c.chanda said

    shall Railway provide extra benifit to those technical staffs who never can enjoy rest(weekly)?,who are ready 24 hrs in their service.For whose outmost endledless labour helping Railway to run smoothly and earn a lots of profit.Technical staffs ex-Engineers to technicians get more pay than office babus,who enjoys 17 hrs rest per day with saturday & sunday.While technical catagories never even know when and where to move to rectify failure.

  7. Ashok Kumar Guptaakg said

    What about the pay scales of University Teachers ,whether in the employment of Central Govt./Central Universities/State Governments/State Universities.When is the UGC expected to formulate its own pay scales on the basis of 6th pay commission report.

  8. Madhukar Lokur said

    Please inform Government decision on pension recommendations. Also please inform authentic website where I can see those recommendations.

  9. Irus said

    Mr Madhukar source has been added at the bottom of the article.

  10. deepak sharma said

    I am a employee with the pay scale of 3050-75-3850-100-4590 since august 2005.what will the actual pay scale and net payment.pls say net arrear amount also.

  11. pk said

    my dad is a retired naval sailor. he was wondering if any of this has affected his monthly pension.

    thanks.

  12. Irus said

    hi Pk broadly speaking what your dad gets in the bank will increase by around 30% (after tax)

  13. JAI KRISHNA MANDAL said

    RECUNSTRUCTION OF CESTAT IS REQUIRED. BECAUSE IN OTHER DEPARTMENT IT IS ALREDDY DONE. WITHOUT THIS IT CAN NOT LEAD TO RIGHT MORAL OF CESTAT STAFF. WHO GOT THE HIGHER RANK IN SSC EXAM THEY SELECTED FOR CESTAT. AND GET LESS PAY AND LESS CHANCE OF PROMOSSION. IN CESTAT SO MANEY STAFFS ABSORB WITHOUT FOLLOW THE RULE AND REGULATION THAT ALSO BLOCK THE PARMANET STAFFS PROMOSSION.

  14. Ankur Shrivastava said

    this is realy great to see after that finally this report has been signed. Everybody was waiting for this….

  15. JAI KRISHNA MANDAL said

    I give the thanks for recomandation of 6th pay commission. For CESTAT if restructure is also done that will bring more fruits. It is to bring kind attention to the fact that in the CESTAT pay scale of Group C and D has never increased in respect of other departments/ministries. When staff selected for the CESTAT which got the higher rank they will selected for CESTAT. Here is less chance of promotin. upgration of pay scale should also be done. Because here is work is done on computers but pay scale given typewriters. Here work is of judicial nature that needs more attention concentratin and carefulness and responsibilty but pay scale given very low compare to other department either judicial or executive.Here time to time so many other department staff come here on deputation in letter they absorbed in higher rank that absorption of the deputationists would not only affect the promotion avenues but also the seniority of regular employees of the tribunal. Some time does not follow the rule regulatin for the absorption.

  16. Narasimhan.S said

    Sir,
    can i know whether the new pay scales are published or not?

  17. Narasimhan.S said

    jus let me know…..

  18. ankit said

    My Basic Pay is Rs. 8350/ in the scale of 7450/ after three yrs. promotion what will be my present pay scale.

  19. vijayinder said

    WHY THE PAY SCALES OF MP BUERACRATES ARE SO HIGH . MP ALWAYS INCREASES THEIR PAY UNANIMOUSLY. WHY THE PAY OF MIDDLE CLASS EMPLOYEES DELAYED 30 MONTHS

  20. s. vaiphei said

    Im working as Section Officer in IA&AD. My present pay scale is 6500-10500. I want to know what will be my pay grade in the new scale and my total emoluments.Pl, give me a detailed solution.

  21. ajoy bhatnagar said

    Im working as Section Officer insurvey of india(ministry of scince&tech.). My present pay scale is 6500-10500(gazeted). I want to know what will be my pay grade in the new scale and my total emoluments.Pl, give me a detailed solution.my pay on 1-1-2006 is 8500/.

  22. Sundaram said

    Dear sir i am a DOT pesioner. Sixth pay commission aproved by the cabinet is also eligible for the pensioner.What is the pension slab(My Pension:3100+1550(50% of the DA)).Pls claify my doubt and pls send me the answer as quick as possible sir.

  23. Irus said

    Revised pay scale calculator is awaited.

  24. Acomplia said

    Lovely post. Please add my email address to your list and email me the updates if possible. I always like to read your blog and comment on it.

  25. rdesaiah said

    my pay is rs. 5400/- as on 1.08.08, please intimate the pay in the revised scale

  26. Kishan Singh said

    Sir, Iam a pensioner of Indian Navy my Basic Pension is 1600/= + Da what are the benifits i am going to get from this pay commission. my date of retire ment is 31 jul 2000.

  27. suresh chandra said

    I am restired BSF commandant.My pension stands fixed as on 01-01-1996 as RS 6825/-. Please apprise pension admissible as on 01-01-2006 and details of arrears upto 30-09-2008.

  28. gurnam said

    Im working as lecturer in college My present pay scale is 8000-13550. I want to know what will be my pay grade in the new scale and my total emoluments.Pl, give me a detailed solution.

  29. i am working as lecturer in college My present pay scale is 8000-13550. I want to know what will be my pay grade in the new scale and my total emoluments.Pl, give me a detailed solution.

  30. i am working as lecturer in college My present pay scale is 12000-18500. I want to know what will be my pay grade in the new scale and my total emoluments.Pl, give me a detailed solution.

  31. Manoj Jha said

    i am working as lecturer in college, My present pay scale is 8000-13550. my pay on 1-1-2006 is 9375/. I want to know what will be my pay grade in the new scale and my total emoluments.Pl, give me a detailed solution.

  32. C.K.Verma said

    i am working as lecturer in college, My present pay scale is 8000-13550. my pay on 1-1-2006 is 8550/. I want to know what will be my pay grade in the new scale and my total emoluments.Pl, give me a detailed solution.

  33. ARvind Kumar said

    That is really a good one.Well, Can I have the pay details approved by the cabinet.What I need is the pay band details with old pay scale.

  34. R.B.GAUTAM said

    MY BASIC PAY AS ON 1.1.06 WAS 7500 IN THE GRADE 6500-200-10500 . PLS FIX MY BASIC ON 1.7.08.
    WHAT WILL BE DA AND TRANSPORTATION ALLOWANCE

  35. gowripathy said

    sir , my basic pay as on 11.11.2007 inthe grade of 8000-275-13500, my current basic is on 1.8.08 is 8275 and my gross is 20734. please calculate my expected pay scale

  36. annapoorani said

    sir my basic pay in the grade of 5000-175-8000 my current basic pay is 8275 and my gross is 13320 pl calculate my slary and other allownces

  37. Gaurav said

    IS VRS AFTER 15 YEARS STILL THERE OR NOT ?

  38. Gaurav said

    IS SELECTION GRADE AND SENIOR ADMINISTRATIVE GRADE NOW MERGED IN PAY BAND 4 ?

  39. A.V.Francis said

    Hi there,
    I have retired from the central govt service(ministry of human resources) on july 31st 2008 after completing 20years of service. Am I eligible for full pension as per the 6th pay commision recommendations accepted by the Government?

  40. Irus said

    Yes Mr Francis! 20 years is the requirement!

  41. debasis said

    please tell me the scale of pay newly circulated

  42. V P Singhal said

    I have not received the reply to my question dated 19th August 08so far. Will you kindly expedite the reply .

  43. Dinesh said

    Plz tell the details of 4500-125-7000

  44. irus said

    Mr. singhal as and when reliable information comes i will post it here for everyone. i do not like speculating on such sensitive issues. thanks for your visit. keep coming.

  45. My present pay scale ( Rs (5500-175-9000) and current Basic Pay Rs 6725i , Increment month July, Basic Pay on Jan 2006 Was Rs 6050in pay scale (5000-150-8000) .Please tell me as per 6th pay commision What is my new pay scale and allowance thanks

  46. RAVI said

    whether the new pay scales are published or not?

  47. S P SAWANT said

    my current basic is 6125 what will be my basic as per the 6th pay commission and what are the other benefits of 6th pc.

  48. SHIVRAM P SAWANT said

    My current basic is 6125/- what will be the benefits if i take vrs now. what will be the pension.

  49. Prof.A.S.Inam Shastri said

    I am working as a Professor in an U.P. State university , in the pay scale of Rs. 16,400-450- 22,400, my basic pay is Rs. 20,900/-. Kindly let me know : what will be my basic salary as per the 6th. pay commission, and other benefits including grade pay. Please also indicate the total emoluments as well as the formulae of fixing the pay. Thanks

  50. dina said

    i am a matron my scale is 6500-10,500. in 2006 my basic pay was 8,500 please what would be my present basic pay? and what are the allowance that i would recieve?

  51. inder jit said

    i am working AS a teacher TGT in govt school in payscale of 5500.00 my basic pay is 7900.00 i get the acp in the m/o 10\2007 pl tell me what is the basic pay fixed and how much arrear i will get

  52. sulekha said

    my basic is 7075 i am working as teacher in central school what will be my salary as on 1st of sep 2008. scale is 5500-175-9000.

  53. K.Bhatia said

    I am a Gr.A Railway Officer in Selection Grade (Basic pay Rs. 14,300). What will be my new salary?

  54. constable naresh kumar said

    i am constable in delhi police.i want to know my salary according to 6th pay commission.

  55. I am library attendent in university of mumbai.Grade (Basic pay Rs 3275),What will be my new salary ?

  56. Irus said

    Mr. Wahid Mr. Naresh Mr. Bhatia and everyone else please go to http://www.surispace.net to get this information.

    I have shifted the website now. All queries will be answered over there. Thank you

  57. mahesh said

    My present pay scale ( Rs (3200-85-4900) and current Basic Pay Rs 3965 , Increment month april, Basic Pay on Jan 2006 Was Rs 3710 in pay scale (3200-85-4900) .Please tell me as per 6th pay commision What is my new pay scale and allowance thanks

  58. Dr. Bahuguna said

    My basic pay in old scale 16400-20000 was 19100 on 1.1.06. What will be my fitment pay in PB4 and corresponding Grade pay? Most of the calculators are not giving correct results. I hope it should be a minimum of 37400+9000 =46400 for the Starting basic pay of Rs 16400. Have you taken the decision of cabinet to place the scale of 16400- 20000 in PB4?

  59. rajesh kumar said

    My present pay scale ( Rs (3200-85-4900) and current Basic Pay Rs 3965 , Increment month april, Basic Pay on Jan 2006 Was Rs 3710 in pay scale (3200-85-4900) .Please tell me as per 6th pay commision What is my new pay scale and allowance thanks

  60. Irus said

    Mr. Rajesh and Dr. Bahuguna everyone else please go to http://www.surispace.net to get this information.

    I have shifted the website now. All queries will be answered over there. Thank you

  61. I retired from army on Dec 31,2006, and i was in Group X. My rank was Naik ACP Gd II.My date of entrolment was Dec 1982.Total service 24 Years.
    Doupts.
    1. What will be my basic pension.
    2. Shall the PPO will be revised.
    3. Shall i get the arrears for one year i.e from Jan 2006 to Dec 2006.
    4. Who will prepare my arrears ( BEG records or CDA Allahabad)
    5. Shall i get commutation on new pension
    6. When i can expect this arrears and revised PPO

  62. Irus said

    Please visit our new website http://surispace.net for answers to pay commission queries

  63. prakash said

    As Section Officer(w.e.f 13.12.2003), on 01.01.06 my basic pay was 6900/- in sccale 6500-10500. Promoted to Sr. SO in April 07 in scale 7450-11500.
    on 01st April 2008 basic pay is 7675. What will be my pay fixation w.e.f. 01st Sep 2008 and the arrear?

  64. pavikant mittal said

    Notification of 6th pay commisssion may be given please

  65. I am a teacher working as TGT(Maths) in Delhi Govt. School in the pay scale of 5500-9000. Please tell me about my estimated new salary and the revised pay scales of teachers.

    Sanjay Chaudhary.
    Delhi.

  66. Nimai Chandra Das
    30th August, 2008 at 18.50 hours

    I am a Ministerial staff working as Junior superintendent in IIT Kharagpur in the pay scale of 5500-9000. Please tell me about my estimated new salary and the revised pay scales of Junior Superintendent.

    Nimai Chandra Das
    IIT Kharagpur

  67. Sir,
    I am a serving soldier in Indian Army. I enroled in Army on 04 May 92 in the category of Graduate Entry Havildar Clerk. I have been put sixteen years + service without any promotion. Not only my batch mets but my seniors those who were enroled on 1991 also pushing and pulling their life in Army for eagrly awaiting for one off promotin before leaving army. My question is whether the ACP being introduced in the defence service personnel as stated in the recommendations of sixth pay commission pannel will applicable for our category or otherwise.

  68. priy said

    i m cont. in delhi police my basice pay is 3050 & one increment of Rs.75. Now what is my pay .

  69. Satish Jindal said

    What will be the pay scales of Lecturer, Assistant Professor and Professor now?

  70. S.Sam Daniel,IPS said

    WHY THE DISPARITY IN PENSION WITH EFFECT FROM 1-1-2006 AND DENIAL OF NATURAL JUSTICE TO THE POST 1-1-1996 AND PRE 1-1-2006 PENSIONERS BY THE VI CENTRAL PAY COMMISSION AND THE CENTRAL GOVERNMENT?
    1. PARITY IN PENSION OF THE PRE AND POST 1-1-1996 RETIREES AND NATURAL JUSTICE TO THE PRE AND POST 1-1-1986 PENSIONERS BY THE V CENTRAL PAY COMMISSION AND THE THEN CENTRAL GOVERNMENT!
    The main demand of the Past Pensioners [Retired before 1-1-1986] was for full parity in pension to those who retired during the period from 1.1.1986 onwards. The V CPC in Para 137.13 (PP 1830) had observed as under:-

    “While it is desirable to grant complete parity in pension to all Past Pensioners irrespective of the date of their retirement, this may not be feasible straightaway as the financial implications would be considerable. The process of bridging the gap in pension of Past Pensioners (Pre 1986 Pensioners) has already been set in motion by the Fourth CPC when past Pensioners were granted additional relief in addition to consolidation of their pension. This process of attainment of- reasonable parity needs to be commuted so as to achieve complete parity over a period of time.”
    In Paras 137.13 and .14 of their Report the V CPC stated that as follow-up of our basic objective of parity, we would recommend that pension of all the Pre 1986 Retirees may be updated by notional fixation of their pay as on 1.1.86 by adopting the same formula as for the serving Employees. This step would bring all the Past Pensioners to a common platform or on the IV CPC pay scales as on 1.1.86. Thereafter, all these Pre 1986 Pensioners can be treated alike in regard to consolidation of their pension as on 1.1.96 by allowing the same fitment weightage as may be allowed to the serving Employees.
    The Recommendation of the V Central Pay Commission in making Parity in Pension of Pre and Post 1-1-1996 Retirees and Revising the pension of Pre and Post 1-1-1986 Retirees suitably was accepted and implemented by the then Central Government with effect from 1-1-1996.
    Had not both the V Central Pay Commission and the then Central Government had done JUSTICE to the Pre and Post 1-1-1986 Pensioners!

    2. DISPARITY IN PENSION BETWEEN THE PRE AND POST 1-1-2006 RETIREES AND INJUSTICE TO THE PRE 1-1-2006 PENSIONERS BY THE VI CENTRAL PAY COMMISSION!

    The Disparity in Pension betwwen the Pre and Post 1-1-2006 Retirees and the injustice done by the VI Central Pay Commission and the Central Government to the Post 1-1-1996 and Pre 1-1-2006 Pensioners can be clearly understood by the following facts.

    A. Fixation of Revised Pay and Pension in respect of Four Post 1-1-2006 Retirees is given below as per OM FN01/1/2008-IC dt.30-8-2008 and OM FN038/37/08P&PW[A] dt.2-9-2008 of Ministry of Finance,Govt of India.

    a.Pre Revised Scale:5500-175-9000 [S10]
    Corresponding Revised Scale:9300-34800+Grade Pay
    Rs4200 [PB2]

    i.Basic Pay:Rs 5500.
    Revised Pay: Rs 14430 [10230+4200]
    Pension:Rs 7215[50% of Pay]
    ii.Basic Pay:Rs.6550.
    Revised Pay:Rs16390[12190+4200]
    Pension:Rs 8195[50%of Pay].

    b.Pre Revised Scale:10000-325-15200 [S19]
    Corresponding Revised Scale:15600-39100+
    Grade Pay Rs 6600[PB3]
    i.Basic Pay:Rs 10000.
    Revised Pay:Rs25200 [18600+6600]
    Pension:Rs12600[50% of Pay]
    ii.Basic Pay:Rs.11950.
    Revised Pay:28830 [22230+6600]
    Pension;Rs14415 [50% of Pay]

    B.Fixation of Revised Pension of Pre 1-1-2006 Retirees by the VI Central Pay Commission as per Memorahdum FNO 38/37/08-P&PW [A] dt 1-9-2008 of the Ministry of Finance,Government of India

    The formula fixed by the VI Pay Commission for arriving at the Revised Pension is as follows.

    Basic Pay without DP x1.86+40% of the Basic Pay.The Condition is that the Revised Pension should not be less than 50% of the minimum of the Corresponding Revised Scale+Grade Pay.
    This Formula could be applied only to Pre 1-1-1996 Retirees.But the Condition that the Revised Pension should not be less than 50% of the minimum of the Revised Pay and Grade Pay cannot be applied to them since they are not covered by the Pay Scales effective from 1-1-1996.
    So,the Pay Commission has really intended to apply this formula only to Employees retired from 2-1-1996 to 31-12-2005.
    According to the Pay Commission, we are to find out the Corresponding Pay in the Revised Scale by adding the Grade Pay.After finding out the Corresponding Pay,we have to work out 50% of the Revised Pay which will be the Revised Pension effective from 1-1-2006. But the Condition has been wronly worded as ‘The Revised Pension shoud not be less than 50% of the minimum of the Revised Scale+Grade Pay instead of ‘The Revised Pension should not be less than 50% of the Revised Pay + Grade Pay’
    So,the Condition has to be modified suitably.

    Here,two illustrations are given in respect of Revision of Pension of Four Pre 1-1-2006 Retirees.

    1.Basic Pay: Rs 5500.
    Pension:Rs. 6215 [2750 [50% of Basic Pay]x1.86+40% of Rs2750]
    2.Basic Pay:Rs 6550.
    Pension:Rs.7403 [3275[50% of Basic Pay]x1.86+40% of Rs3275]
    3.Basic Pay: Rs 10000.
    Pension:Rs11300 [5000 [50%of Basic Pay[x1.86+40% of Rs5000]
    4.Basic Pay Rs 11950.
    Pension:Rs13505.[5975 [50%of Basic Pay]x1.86+40% of Rs 5975]

    According to the formula of the Pay Commission, a Pensioner drawing a Basic Pay of Rs 6550 in the Scale of Rs 5500-175-9000[S10] will get only 50% of the minimum of the Revised Scale[Rs 9300-34800-PB 2]+Grade Pay of Rs4200 viz,Rs 7215 and not Rs 8195[Revised for Post 1-1-2006 Pensionner] as Pension!
    Similarly,a Pensioner drawing a Basic Pay of Rs 11950 in the Scale of Rs.10000-325-15200 [S19] will get only 50% of the minimum of the Revised Scale [Rs 15600-39100-PB 3]+Grade Pay of Rs 6600 viz,Rs 12600 and not 14415 [Revised for Post 1-1-2006 Pensioner]as Pension!
    Why the Pay Commission and the Central Govt have done injustice by applying double standards to the Pre and Post 1-1-2006 Pensioners who belong to the very same Pay Band?

    Will not the following variations affect the Pre 1-1-2006
    Pensioners permanently?

    Basic Pay Rs.5500: Post 1-1-2006 Pensioner will get Rs1000 more per month besides DA!
    Basic Pay Rs 6550:Post 1-1-2006 Pensioner will get
    Rs 792 more per month besides DA!
    Basic Pay Rs 10000: Post 1-1-2006 Pensioner will get Rs 1300 more besides DA!
    Basic Pay Rs 11950: Post 1-1-2006 Pensioner will get Rs 910 more besides DA!

    CONCLUSION

    Is this wide variation between the pensions in the cases of Pre and Post 1-1-2006 Retirees with effect from 1-1-2006 even though they belong to the same Pay Band not against Natural Justice?

    Will the Central Government immediately look into this Disparity, do JUSTICE to the Pensioners who retired from 2-1-1996 to 31-12-2005 and issue orders bringing PARITY in Pension of both the Pre and Post 1-1-2006 Pensioners as they belong to the same Pay Band?

  71. Bhim said

    I am a lecturer in senior scale having a pay scale of 10650-523-14200. what will be my basic scale as per 6th pay commission.

  72. B.Hari Prasad said

    Sir, I am working as an Asst Prof with scale of 12000-420-*****.

    What will be my basic pay as per 6th pay.

  73. saroj said

    My basic is 13680/ in scale of 12000-420-18300 and working as Assist Professor. What will be my new basic as per 6th pay commision and also tell the formula for calculation.

  74. kalavalli said

    my basic pay is 9300 &increment per month is 200&my increment time is october .What is my new scale on sixth pay comiision

  75. Why the Group-B officers in Railway, who are actually working hard in field, are so neglected in this 6th pay commission! Are we are in the reign of british as during depenence!How funny they are included in the PB-2(Rs.9300-37600 with grade pay of Rs.4800) as of clerks and supervisors,where same Asst. officer entered direct will get PB-3 & Rs.15600-39700 Scale with grade pay of Rs.5400. Is it not a disparity in independent India.

  76. DISPARITIES IN 6TH PAY COMMISSION WITH RESPECT TO DEF FORCES

    1. While there have been a lot of deliberations at various levels before finalization of the 6th Pay commission, there still are a few glaring disparities and anomalies which are evident from initial perusal of the Notification. These incongruities, if not addressed in time and rectified, will surely have a very detrimental effect on not only the financial standing, but also their status & thus morale of all defence personnel. A few of the major glitches in the Notification are listed in subsequent paras.
    2. The three Chiefs of Defense Services have pointed out the degradation with vivid disparities in the Gde. Pay of the defense officers of the rank of Lt. Cols., Lt. Gens. and equivalent ranks of all three services, and apprised the Prime Minister, Defence Minister and Finance Minister, since it will have adverse effects during the joint operations as well as on their morale.
    3. With due apology, I wish to mention that in addition to the above, there are still number of more grave and worst disparities in the cases of officers of the ranks of Majors, captains and Lieutenants, and equivalent ranks of all three services as well as trainees of these services.
    4. You may kindly see that the pre-revised scales of pay of civil services officers falling in S-21, S-22, and S-23 were much less then the pay scales of Majors and equivalent ranks of all three services. Irrespective of this fact; in accordance with the 6th pa commission report notifications, the Civilian Officers of the categories mentioned ibid are given the Grade Pay of Rs. 7600/-, where as all officers of the rank of Majors and equivalent ranks of all three services have been given the Grade pay of Rs. 6600/- only.
    5. In addition, the Chief Nursing Officers of Para Military Services, the Principals of schools, Education Officers, Assistant Directors and Managers, whose pre-revised scales were 10000-15200; all of them have now been given the Grade Pay of Rs. 7600/-, whereas, the officers of the rank of Majors and equivalent ranks of all three services, earlier drawing much higher pay scale than them, have been given the Grade pay of Rs. 6600/- only.
    6. The degradation of Defense Services Officers does not end here itself. If you peruse the VI CPC report and notifications thereto, you will see, that the ‘Vice Principal Grade I’ and Post Graduate Teacher Grade I of schools whose pre-revised scale was 8000-13200 are now given the Grade Pay of Rs. 6600/-, but in the case of the officers of the rank of Captains and equivalent ranks of all three services, whose pre-revised pay was much higher than the officials mentioned above are given Grade Pay of 6100/- only. Likewise, the pre-revised pay scale of the officers of the rank of Lieutenants and equivalent ranks of all three services was starting from Rs 8250/ which is more than the officials mentioned ibid, still, their Grade Pay is given just Rs. 5400/- only
    7. Further, it may be seen that any officers or officials of Central or State Govt. join any service in any post, they start getting their full pay and allowances from the day they join the service. Their entire service is counted for increments, promotions and retirement from the first very day, when they join service. Rather, they are paid their full pay and allowances and all other benefits of service during their training period, irrespective of duration of their training. In the cases Officers and PBOR of Defense services, they are paid just stipend only during the period of their initial training and this period is not counted for giving increments, promotions and retirement. Such a big discrimination and injustice must not be done to the defense services personnel alone.
    8. The 6th Pay Commission and the Govt. has very kindly recommended and accepted the prolonged and long standing/awaited demand of Military Service Pay (‘MSP’) of defense personnel. But, it is highly unjustified as to why the MSP should not be applicable w. e. f. the day the 6th pay commission is effective. Were the soldiers not the part of defense forces and/or they have not been performing their duties since 1 Jan 2006? If they are legitimate part of defense forces and have been performing their duties since 1 Jan 2006 and the 6th Pay commission is since effective from 1 Jan 2006, the MSP must be given to them w.e.f that very date and the arrears whatever due should be paid accordingly.
    9. Further, Military Service Pay is since the Pay, it is highly illogical not to consider it to calculate dearness allowance and increments on this pay. It may be noted that the Central Govt. has agreed to pay dearness allowance on the Transport Allowance. It is surprising to note that irrespective of the tpt. allowance is an allowance and not the pay, the dearness allowance is permitted on it, but the MSP is even the Pay, yet, it is not considered for the purpose. Hence, the Govt. must reconsider its decision to pay dearness allowance on MSP as well as, it must be included to calculate increments w.e.f. 01 Jan 2006 please.
    10. From the above, you can very well see that all the officers and PBOR of all the three services have been disgraced, dishonored, and degraded to such an extent.
    11. In view of the foregoing, an earnest appeal is made to the Prime Minister, Defense Minister, Finance Minister and all other authorities to do justice to the Officers and PBOR of all the three services to look into the matter judiciously, restore their status and dignity, so that the joint operations are performed effectively. Keeping in view the facts mentioned above, give them their due as suggested below:-
    (a). In the cases of Lt. Generals, Lt. Colonels and PBOR, as taken up by the Chiefs of three Defense Services.
    (b). In the case of the officers of the rank of Majors and equivalent ranks of all three services, the Grade pay of Rs. 7600/- be given to them.
    (c). In the case of the officers of the rank of Captains and equivalent ranks of all three services, the Grade pay of Rs. 6600/- be given to them.
    (d). In the case of the officers of the rank of Lieutenants and equivalent ranks of all three services, the Grade pay of Rs. 6100/- be given to them.
    (e). Give full pay, allowances and Grade Pay to all the Officers and PBOR of Defense services during the period of their initial training as is being done in the case of other Central and State Govt. Officials and count this period for giving them increments, promotions and retirement.
    12. If suggestions recommendations above are accepted, it is assured that it will have great impact to raise the morale of all the Defense Services Personnel and attract desired, rather better talents to join Military Services, thus huge vacancies of officers existing since long will be made up. This will prove to be in the best interest of the nation and national security.
    Thanks.
    Yours truly,
    Kishan.

  77. krishanlaljaspal said

    REMOVAL OF DISPARITIES OF DEFENSE PERSONNEL.
    1. It may be noted that the defense services persons, while putting across their grievances while quoting pay parities, they never mean any thing against the IAS officers, Para Military Services officers or any one else. Rather, they are happy to note that all these officers have been given their legitimate due for which they are fully satisfied.
    2. It is needless to emphasize that the financial benefits to the defense persons definitely have to be kept in mind. This is emphatically important considering their service conditions and low retirement age. However, may they be officers or PBOR, their prestige, dignity and honor is rather that of more importance, which must not be compromised, destroyed, degraded and tarnished as has been done in the notified 6th Pay Commission Report. This statement is evident from the fact that the seniority and status of all the Govt. employees will be determined by the Grade Pay of all the officials in accordance with the 6th pay commission report.
    3. Nevertheless, the three Chiefs of Defense Services have pointed out the Pay Parities with vivid disparities in the Gde. Pay of some of the defense officers of the rank of Lt. Cols., Lt. Gens. and equivalent ranks of all three services, especially in comparison to IAS Officers and Para Military Officers. It has been categorically pointed out by the three Chiefs of Defense Services, the proposed pay parities will have adverse effects during the joint operations.
    4. With due apology, this is to point out that in addition to the above disparities, there are still number of more grave disparities in the cases of officers of the ranks of Majors, captains and Lieutenants, and equivalent ranks of all three services as well as trainees of these services.
    5. You may kindly see that the pre-revised scales of pay of civil services officers falling in S-21, S-22, and S-23 and equivalent posts of officers of Para Military Forces were much less then the pay scale of Majors and equivalent ranks of all three services. Irrespective of this fact; in accordance with the 6th pa commission report notifications, the Civilian Officers of the categories mentioned ibid are given the Grade Pay of Rs. 7600/-, where as all officers of the rank of Majors and equivalent ranks of all three services have been given the Grade pay of Rs. 6600/- only. Further, the Chief Nursing Officers of Para Military Services, the Principals of schools, Education Officers, Assistant Directors and Managers, whose pre-revised scales were 10000-15200; all of them have now been given the Grade Pay of Rs. 7600/-, whereas, the officers of the rank of Majors and equivalent ranks of all three services, earlier drawing much higher pay scale than them, have been given the Grade pay of Rs. 6600/- only.
    6. The degradation of Defense Services Officers does not end here itself. If you peruse the VI CPC report and notifications thereto. You will see that the ‘Vice Principal Grade I’ and Post Graduate Teacher Grade I of schools whose pre-revised scale was 8000-13200 are now given the Grade Pay of Rs. 6600/-, but in the case of the officers of the rank of Captains and equivalent ranks of all three services, whose pre-revised pay was much higher than the officials mentioned above are given Grade Pay of 6100/- only. Likewise, the pre-revised pay scale of the officers of the rank of Lieutenants and equivalent ranks of all three services was starting from Rs 8250/ which is more than the officials mentioned ibid, their Grade Pay is given just Rs. 5400/- only.
    7. It is emphatically and forcefully verbalized that all the Pay Bands and Grade pay given to the Defense Officers should be made applicable to them after rendering the same period of service as that is applicable to the IAS Officers and Para Military Officers. There must not be any discrimination in this regard.
    8. Further, it may be seen that when any officers or officials of Central or State Govt. join any service in any post, they start getting their full pay and allowances from the day they join the service. Their entire service is counted for increments, promotions and retirement from the first very day. They are paid their full pay and allowances and all other benefits of service during their training period, irrespective of duration of their training. Contrary to this, the Officers and PBOR of Defense services are paid just stipend only during the period of their initial training. Also, this period is not counted for giving increments, promotions and retirement. Such a big discrimination and injustice must not be done to the defense services personnel alone.
    9. The 6th Pay Commission and the Govt. has very kindly recommended and accepted the prolonged and long standing/awaited demand of Military Service Pay (‘MSP’) of defense personnel. But, it is highly unjustified as to why the MSP should not be applicable w. e. f. the day, the 6th pay commission is effective. Were the soldiers not the part of defense forces and/or they have not been performing their duties from 1 Jan 2006 onward? If they are legitimate part of defense forces and have been performing their duties since 1 Jan 2006 and the 6th Pay commission is since effective from 1 Jan 2006, the MSP must be given to them w.e.f that very date and the arrears whatever may be due, should be paid accordingly.
    10. Further, Military Service Pay is since the Pay, it is highly illogical not to consider it to calculate dearness allowance and increments on this pay. It may be noted that the Central Govt. has agreed to pay dearness allowance on the Transport Allowance. It is surprising to note that when the tpt. allowance is an allowance and not the pay, the dearness allowance is permitted on it, but the MSP is the Pay, yet, it is not considered for the purpose. Hence, the Govt. must reconsider its decision to pay dearness allowance on MSP as well as, it must be included to calculate increments w.e.f. 01 Jan 2006 please.
    11. One Rank One-Pension issue has been long outstanding. This matter is most judicious and deserving since the service personnel including officers retire at a very early age and none of them finds any avenues for discharging their entire responsibilities and living after their retirement. They are totally dependent on their pension only.
    12. At the time of implementation of pay commission report, there occurs a big disparity in the pension of present and previously retired ex-service persons retired from the same rank. The pension of presently retired person is fixed based on 50% of last 10 months average pay after rendering total period of service by him. In the case of persons retired before the implementation of pay commission report, their pension is re-fixed based on minimum of the new pay scale of the rank/post from which they retired, irrespective of any amount of period of service they had rendered before their retirement. The entire period of service they rendered before their retirement is completely ignored. Consequently, there becomes a wide gap of eligibility of pension between the present/future and previously retired persons, though in both cases, they retired or will retire from the same rank. This is absolutely in contravention to the Apex Court’s recent decision. Considering this fact as well as Apex court judgement, the authorities must bear in mind the rank and period of rendered service while re-fixing the pension of all persons who retired before implementation of pay commission report. In accordance with this analogy, the authorities must consider the pensionable pay of a serving person after the period of service that was rendered by a retired person for re-fixing his pension on implementation of any pay commission report. If pension is ever re-fixed against this principle, it will be contrary to the Apex Court judgement.
    13. Previously, the defense service officers, who could not get selection grade rank of Lt. Col and equivalents rank; they used to get this rank after rendering 21 years of service. Such officers were denied rank pay of Lt. Col and their pension was fixed without including the rank pay of this rank. It is of utmost importance to note that presently, all officers of defense services attain the rank of time scale Lt. Col after rendering 13 years of service, and they are entitled full pension, considering their basic pay and rank pay. Further, after implementation of sixth pay commission report, they will get their full pension after including running pay of applicable “band pay, grade pay and MSP’. The previously retired officers since attain the rank in question after 21 years and present ones, get this rank after 13 years, there must not be any discrimination in the past and present officers of the rank of Lt. Col. while fixing/re-fixing the pension in either case.
    14. The present minimum service required for officers to be eligible for pension is 20 years. The short service commissioned officers, who are asked to leave service after 10/14 years, are not eligible for pension. The pension for such officers should be considered, though it may not be full pension as is applicable for the officers who retire after rendering 20 years or more service. It can be commensurately less in comparison to minimum 20 years requirement. However, such short commissioned officers, who voluntarily seek retirement after stipulated period or before 20 years may not be considered for this purpose.
    15. In view of the foregoing, a most sincere and earnest appeal is made to the Prime Minister, External Affairs minister, who is the Chairman of special review committee for the purpose, Defense Minister, Finance Minister and all other authorities to do justice to the Defense Officers and PBOR of all three services to look into the matter judiciously, restore their status and dignity and give them their due as suggested below:-
    (a). In the cases of Lt. Generals, Lt. Colonels and PBOR, as taken up by the Chiefs of three Defense Services.
    (b). In the case of the officers of the rank of Majors and equivalent ranks of all three services, the Grade pay of Rs. 7600/- be given.
    (c). In the case of the officers of the rank of Captains and equivalent ranks of all three services, the Grade pay of Rs. 6600/- be given.
    (d). In the case of the officers of the rank of Lieutenants and equivalent ranks of all three services, the Grade pay of Rs. 6100/- be given.
    (e). Give full pay, allowances and Grade Pay to all the Officers and PBOR of Defense services during the period of their initial training as is being done in the case of other Central and State Govt. Officials.
    (f). The Pay Bands and Grade pay given to the Defense Officers should be made applicable after rendering the same period of service as that is applicable to the IAS Officers and Para Military Officers. There must not be any discrimination in this regard.
    (g). In accordance with Hon’ able Apex Court’s recent decision; the Govt. must bear in mind to ensure to fix the pension of officers previously retired or retiring hereafter in the same rank of Lt Col. may it be time scale or previous selection grade or any other same rank without any discrimination.
    (h). The short service commissioned officers, who are asked to leave service after rendering 10/14 service years, be made eligible for pension, which may be commensurately less in comparison to 20 years.
    (i). Considering the fact explained at Para 12 above as well as recent Apex Court judgement, the authorities must bear in mind the rank and period of rendered service while re-fixing the pension of all persons who retired before implementation of pay commission report. In accordance with this analogy, the authorities must consider total pensionable pay of a serving person after the period of service that was rendered by a retired person for re-fixing every retired person’s pension on implementation of any pay commission report.
    17. If suggestions above are accepted, it is assured that it will have great impact to raise the morale of Defense Services Personnel and attract desired, rather better talents to join Military Services, thus huge vacancies of officers, existing since long, will be made up. This will prove to be in the best interest of the nation and national security.
    Thanks.
    Yours truly,
    Jassu

  78. anita said

    Its humble to read all reports but its waste of time to write all these instead of that time can b utilised in actual creations.
    what r the main key features for diff states who noes?may b same as centre we dont no

  79. SUDESHKUMAR BHASRDWAJ said

    sir i retired from indian navy on 31/12/98 as HONORARY LIEUTENANT WITH BASIC PENSION OF Rs 5425/ . WHAT WILL BE MY PENSION NOW ? WILL MY PENSION INCLUDE NEW BASIC PENSION +GRADE PAY +MILITARY SERVICE PAY=50%OF TOTAL TO FIX MY NEW PENSION

  80. […] You may refer the site:https://surispace.wordpress.com/2008/08/1… […]

  81. ashili gouraiah retd IAF said

    is there any mai baap to settle the arrears of retd soldiers in ap.we are not vote bank.beggers are better under this govt. can any one help to release due n long over due arrears.

    desperate soldier

  82. sachin grover said

    01-05-2006 is my appointment date at that time my basic pay was 5500-175-9000.what will be my new salary.

  83. Nitin Pant said

    04 Mar 2002 is my appointment date and I have been promoted to the next level in 01 August 2008 from 3050/-to 4000-6000 grade. where will i be fixed and what is the exact amount i will draw in sixth CPC.

  84. jacob john said

    pay commission is nothing but fooling since upto the basic pension Rs. 1600/ all are brought to Rs. 3500/ in the army there is rank, length of service, trade and this is not accounted in the fixation of the basic pension and kindly study the matter with other commission please jacob john

  85. ihave no benifit six pay commision

  86. i am bro gref digi camp pune 15

  87. Sarjeet S. Bhangu[ said

    i retired as paid sgt from indian Airforce on Jan 31, 1978 after 15 years of active service and 2 years reserve. will i be paid the sgt rank pension with effect from the date of retirement as per the centeral pay cimmission report? I expect the answer as early possible.
    other ranks pensions seems to me disparity per the sixth pay commission becase report is not very clear.

  88. vineeta said

    sir my father in IAF will retired on Aug. 98 his total service 33 years his service no. 251331-H ramendra nath agnihotri, and he was die on oct 2003 and my mother got family pension since nov 2003 but the bank will not paid the arrear 2008-2009. So please give me the information and please tell me about the revised pension. i.e in this time the total family pension is what.

  89. Dr. Parna Das said

    We are some Homeopathic doctors working in National Institute of Homeopathy for last 25 years.We are holding the post of Medical officers and Asst. Research officers. There is no promotional avenue for us. It is an autonomous organisation under the dept. of AYUSH, Ministry of Health and F.w, Govt. of india.
    We will be very grateful to Central Pay Commission if Dynamic ACP implement here for us.
    Thanking you.

  90. Suman lata said

    Sir,
    With an humble request, I beg to state that I had joined as TGT (Hindi) on 12/09/2007(After noon) on promotion in the pay scale of Rs. 5500 -175-9000 plus usual allowances as admissible under the rules, with immediate effect from primary teacher. On the joining, my pay was fixed Rs. 6025/- on dated 13/09/2007 in the pay scale of Rs. 5500 -175-9000. According to 6th pay commission by my pay was revised as Rs 16180 (Rs. 11580/- as pay +Rs. 4600/- as grade pay)

    Pay of fresh TGT is fixed as Rs 17140 (Rs. 12540 as pay +Rs. 4600 as grade pay) who has join after my promotion.

    According to the Directorate of Education order No. 806-816 dated 12/09/2008, my pay may be revised as Rs 17140 (Rs. 12540 as pay +Rs. 4600 as grade pay) on dated 13/09/2007 as well as starting pay of TGT.

    Please, inform me, what my pay is on 13/09/2007.

    • Jayant Malhotra said

      Madam Suman Lata. Please inquire from the concerned department about these details as individual cases are dealt separately.

      Thank you

  91. Suman lata said

    Sir,

    With an humble request, I beg to state that I had joined as TGT (Hindi) on 12/09/2007(After noon) on promotion in the pay scale of Rs. 5500 -175-9000 plus usual allowances as admissible under the rules, with immediate effect from primary teacher in the pay scale of Rs. 4500 -125-8000 plus usual allowances. My pay was Rs 5500/- On 1/1/06 and on the joining, my pay was fixed Rs. 6025/- on dated 13/09/2007 in the pay scale of Rs. 5500 -175-9000.At present my pay was revised as Rs 16180 (Rs. 11580/- as pay +Rs. 4600/- as grade pay) when starting pay of TGT is Rs 17140 (Rs. 12540/- as pay +Rs. 4600/- as grade pay)

    Pay of fresh TGT is fixed as Rs 17140 (Rs. 12540 as pay +Rs. 4600 as grade pay) who has join on 23/11/2007 after my promotion (13/09/2007).

    According to the Directorate of Education order No. 806-816 dated 12/09/2008, my pay may be revised as Rs 17140 (Rs. 12540 as pay +Rs. 4600 as grade pay) on dated 13/09/2007 as well as starting pay of TGT.

    Please, inform me, what my pay is on 13/09/2007.

    Suman lata
    Email : slata_nema@yahoo.co.in

  92. Prasada Rao said

    Before 6th pay commission my basic pay is Rs.3275 and was fixed after pay commission at Rs.8410, at present my pay is Rs.9540. But my batch mates of various divisions and zones are belong to Railways getting more pay than me as Rs.9880, 9720 & 9860. Kindly inform to me that the persons who were appointed in the year 2005 what is the actual pay has to be fixed and what is the correct basic pay of the above mentioned.

  93. zafar ali khan said

    pension subdar

  94. “Sadly most sites that have a standard for youtube have no flickr etc. availability. I don’t know anything about WordPress, but if you just use the embedding code from the video itself in the body of your blog it should run no problem 😉 Mine did! …

    “yes there is. open the video on flickr and look for button "embed" on the top menu. you will get the code that you can copy-paste to where you want.”…

  95. bali said

    bali…

    […]Sixth Pay Commission update « But the Obvious![…]…

  96. Thanks for finally talking about >Sixth Pay Commission update But the Obvious!
    <Loved it!

  97. preschool said

    My brother suggested I may like this web site. He was totally right.
    This post truly made my day. You cann’t believe just how
    a lot time I had spent for this info! Thank you!

  98. gold rs said

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of yiur articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog?
    My blog site is in the very same area of interest as yours annd my visitors would really benefit from a lot of the information you present here.
    Please let me knkw iif this okay with you. Thank you!

  99. Finley said

    Skype has launched its website-centered consumer beta towards the
    world, after starting it generally in the United states and U.K.
    earlier this 30 days. Skype for Internet also now works with Chromebook and Linux for immediate messaging conversation (no video
    and voice but, individuals demand a plug-in installing).

    The expansion in the beta brings help for an extended listing of languages to help you reinforce that global usability

Leave a Reply

 
